Archetypes – Defining Who I Am 

I often consider aspects of my life and personality. Why I do and think what I do, knowing full well I am a rather complex human. Since undertaking a couple of Archetype workshops last year, I find myself conscious of one of my archetypes being at work more than another at any given time. It’s interesting, fascinating and ultimately extremely beneficial as I begin to understand more and more why I do, think and behave as I do. 

Archetypes are personifications or aspects of who we are. Jung talked about them many years ago. Caroline Myss explored them more deeply as Contracts. I was blessed to meet Brian Dale last year and undertake his level one workshops which provided me with a very clear understanding of how they operate in our lives. But what an immensely enjoyable two days – some months apart – as our small group (all women and connected in one way or another) – explored and discovered our own personal archetypes. 

Whilst there are now over 100 varying archetypes, we hold within ourself 12 main archetypes that we use most days, and about 80% of the time. We determine for our own selves what our archetypes are by considering the various types and finding what ‘best describes us’ from childhood days. Within the main 12 are four universal archetypes that everyone holds. The other 8 are our individual ones. Interestingly within various ‘fields’ there are variations on a theme. For example, the artist, craftsperson and creator are variations on artistic and creative aspects. Yet each is quite different to the others. It is often in this delving into deeper aspects that we get the ‘a-ha’ moments. 

For myself, these two one-day workshops have provided more clarity and ease in my lifes journey and the search to discover who I am and why I do what I do and think as I do. My whole life I have known I am not like most. I certainly don’t think, act and believe as most females do. In fact I find it much easier communicating with males. I am unique. But then, are we all not unique? 

We seem to need to bring everyone back to a common denominator to define and explain. Yet exploring archetypes I can see where the similarities lie, and where the vast differences begin. If you consider over 100 archetypes, that we hold 8 primary individual ones, plus 4 universal ones, the varying combinations are massive. What are the chances of meeting another with exactly the same primary 8 archetypes? Not to even consider the second and third layers – our supporting and highest potential layers. Then there is the placement of each in our 12 life houses. Quite similar to astrological houses, these are common aspects of life. To meet another which exactly the same combination in exactly the same houses would be an incredible rarity even in this rapidly expanding world.

What this exploration and discovery has provided for myself, is the ability to finally understand and accept who I am. To embrace myself fully. To no longer make excuses or accept negative comments from others. To learn to say no, to state my view, stand my ground, and refuse to allow another to put me down. Simply put, this is who I am. That is who another is. We are different. We are each unique in our makeup. And we each bring to the table an incredible set of gifts and talents, in a fascinating combination, that makes us the uniquely individual human beings that we are. 

Where archetypes help us is in working through the positive and negative aspects to bring them into balance. To enable us to enhance our lives and interactions, and to bring out the best, to be the best that we are capable of achieving. The opportunity to reach our fully functioning, highest potential as human beings that we have been given to embrace and achieve. 

  

Please Leave a Reply

