image Learning to Flow Through Art

The past year has begun again an exploration into art. Partly trying to find what I like best, partly testing my abilities and mostly just having a go and having fun. I am a lil behind in my Life Book 2014 weekly sessions, mainly because I get sidetracked and want to try different things.

Having a great art shop close by has been a bonus. So many wonderful mediums to experiment with. I have been chatting to an old friend who has, like me, taken up art again. His work is fantastic and he has a local showing booked. He made a comment that I needed more right brain … As in more flowing, realistic and not so stylised. So I decided to try this out. I have also been exploring shadows and shading remembering that I often battled with this aspect many years ago.

In doing so I began to experiment with soft pastels, pan pastels and conte crayons. I have been pleasantly surprised, in particular how my my mood changes. Soft, gentle, flowing and incredibly peaceful, at times I feel almost meditative.

Whilst not yet taking the leap of drawing from life, I have used photos as a reference. Most important of all tho is that I enjoy myself and have fun in the process, whilst opening my eyes to detail.

20140319-082256.jpg
Stylised collage and acrylic

20140319-082319.jpg
Watercolour pencil

20140319-082332.jpg
Watercolour pencil after water washed

20140319-082442.jpg
Conte crayons

20140319-082455.jpg
Pan pastels

20140319-082506.jpg
Pan pastels

20140319-082519.jpg
Pan pastels

Please Leave a Reply

