gallery This Journey is Filled With …

Healing with Art posted recently …

Finish this sentence… This journey is filled with?


Thought provoking for an early morning. What is my journey filled with? I replied with ‘memories and experiences and every colour of the rainbow’. Because it would be a rather long response otherwise. Ah the beauty of a blog. I can now explore this little inspirational idea some more.

20121029-093935.jpg

Life is a journey. We travel a path from conception to birth to death. Every ones path is different. Sometimes similar, seeming that we walk alongside another for a while. Other times our paths cross momentarily. Others still our paths so widely different that there appears to be no connection. Yet we all walk the path of being alive on planet earth. We do not have a choice in where our path starts, nor usually where it ends. We may not always have a choice in where it goes. Feeling frequently at the mercy of our surroundings.

20121029-093539.jpg

But we do have a choice in how we respond and react. What we think along the way. We can choose usually which fork to follow. We can even set our own course, create our own path. We can walk it alone, or with any number of people we choose. We can choose to follow the mindless trudging of others, or head off on a path of our own creating. We can also choose to opt out at any time. But then we would only have to do it all again.

20121021-235820.jpg

We feel at times restricted, blocked, pressured by those around us. Unable to break free. We see others blazing their own path and feel envy and jealousy. How come they have a good journey? Perhaps we feel quietly happy for another while resigned inside to continuing our own journey. And at other times we are inspired, encouraged and suddenly we stop and turn just a single degree and begin our own path.

20121029-105447.jpg

My journey is one filled with increasing awareness and consciousness. Learning to ‘live in the now’, to enjoy and experience every single moment. I do not need hair-raising adventures. In fact that is not my nature. I prefer quiet contemplation, being in nature, using my senses, all of them, to drink in the beauty. To fill my soul. Company of close friends and family. Opportunities to discuss, debate, reflect and share. To read and learn. To gain knowledge, understanding and wisdom. To learn who I am, what I am, and to share what life has shown me. I relate so much to the dragonfly. Flittering through life. Stopping now and then, before taking off again.

20121029-091042.jpg

In many ways a blessed life. A loving family to guide me. My parents are still very much in love after 52 years. My parents taught me so much about compassion, understanding, giving, being there for others. My diversions into fundamentalist Christian youth gatherings, together with many years spent with rigid people I shared my life with taught me the meaning of freedom, of being true to myself, that many live in a sadly, very narrow world. That I can’t change others. I can only be me, share my life, and perhaps provide an alternative view. It is not my path, that of another. I cannot walk theirs. I can only change myself.

20121029-075621.jpg

My life’s journey took a changed path, into sadness, grief and shadows. I lost who I was. Became something others wanted. It took others to point this out to me initially. To show me that I have a beautiful light side. Too long I enjoyed my dark side. It kept me safe. From feeling, emotions and others. My walls were massive. But caring friends chipped away then blasted holes til they tumbled down. Leaving me exposed. Having to start again. Like a butterfly emerging from her cocoon. I know over years I caused grief to those around me. But I have learnt to forgive both myself and others. I learnt to like myself, to love myself. I learnt that I cannot love others if I don’t love myself. Hard lessons in a way. Tho in saying this they were never horrific. But they were and are mine alone.

20121029-084955.jpg

Yet through the years, of experiencing emotions and feelings, of working through depression and lack of self-confidence, I gained so much knowledge and wisdom. More experiences and memories. As the song by Kelly Clarkson goes …

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter

Not for a moment do I regret my past, my life, any aspect. My teachers have come through problematic people at work, in relationships, through family and friends and yes patients and colleagues. Each has taught me something valuable. Each has enabled me to experience different things in life. And through this, it has provided me with experiences and responses that I can share with others travelling life’s often difficult journey. For I have the ability to analyse and interpret, to make associations, to paint a picture, and to share in positive, encouraging ways. I know what works best for me. I can see where sharing helps another. Gives hope, direction and support.

I pause for a moment, remember a book my father edited in 1995 … ‘Comfort and Encouragement’. There is a piece entitled Encouragement which sums up its importance completely. (I wonder where I got this strong belief in Encouraging and Supporting). Too long to post to my already long blog, it is reposted here

20121029-095851.jpg

They say that love is the greatest thing. To me, the most valuable things in life are support and encouragement. These two beautiful actions enable self – growth, awareness, confidence and esteem. They are guiding lights shining a path through the darkness in life. And sometimes we need to wander alone in darkness to fully appreciate the light in ourselves. The light around us, in the world we live in.

Evermore sang …

“‘Cause I see the light surrounding you
So don’t be afraid of something new”

Like a chameleon I change. Often. To suit or blend in with my environment. At times to stand out, alone. Taking a stand. I have opinions. Strong ones. Indeed I am by all intents a strong person. A leader. This has often seemed like it came to me by default, at an early age. Yet I know now it’s a part of who I am. It’s a path in my journey. At times I feel I am ‘too much’, too intense for others. I must learn to tone down. To soften, and be gentle. Something I am finally learning to do. And it is a beautiful feeling. Yet I am conscious now of not losing myself again. Of finding balance and harmony. This is part of what it means for me to live my magickal life.

20121029-090315.jpg

So often I want and yes do say .. Let your light shine. Let the world see who you are. You are the most important person in your world.

I cannot finish this without adding Katy Perry’s “Fireworks” … have you ever stopped to listen to the lyrics? Felt the emotions coursing through you? Wanted to jump up and shout to the world?

“You don’t have to feel like a wasted space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe your reason why all the doors are closed
So you could open one that leads you to the perfect road
Like a lightning bolt, your heart will glow
And when it’s time, you’ll know

You just gotta ignite the light, and let it shine
Just own the night like the 4th of July

‘Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh”
As you shoot across the sky

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colours burst
Make ’em go “Oh, Oh, Oh”
You’re gonna leave ’em all in “awe, awe, awe”

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
It’s always been inside of you, you, you
And now it’s time to let it through”

20121029-094546.jpg

Life is for living
A journey we travel every moment
A path often unknown
Ours for the making

Learning to live free
Joy in our heart
Pleasure filled, abundant, blissful ….
…. MAGICKAL

How would you end this sentence? What is your journey filled with? How has your life’s path brought you to where you are now?
Have you found the magick? Are you living YOUR magickal life?

20121029-093238.jpg

One comment

Please Leave a Reply

