gallery Wisdom of Rumi

The wisdom of Rumi continues to have meaning in life 8 centuries later. Having come across quotes by ‘Rumi’ over the years, I finally decided to purchase, in hardcopy, two of his works, collated by Coleman Barks, “The Essential Rumi” and “Rumi the Book of Love”. Now I have the pleasure to browse and read, to scan and turn to a page at my own leisure. I have always loved poetry and prose, the classics and mystics. In Rumi, I find wisdom that deeply resonates with my being. His words capture my thoughts, philosophy and ideas, though written way before my time.

What’s interesting is to see that what he wrote centuries ago is mirrored today in what many regard as “new age” philosophy. The raising of awareness. Consideration of the ‘whole’ person. The soul deep understanding of human kind. If you are familiar with the classics, you will realise that Rumi also captured what Aristotle wrote. How many of our ‘historical greats in literature are what may be considered philosophers of the “new age”. Humanity has a way of coming full circle through the ages. For myself, I regard this as “flying free”.

20121011-083803.jpg

The following quotes are from Rumi. His wisdom is evident in his words and philosophy of life.

“Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”

“You were born with wings, why prefer to crawl through life?”

“What you seek is seeking you.”

“Dance, when you’re broken open.
Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off.
Dance in the middle of the fighting.
Dance in your blood.
Dance when you’re perfectly free.”

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.”

“My soul is from elsewhere, I’m sure of that, and I intend to end up there.”

“Forget safety.
Live where you fear to live.
Destroy your reputation.
Be notorious.”

“Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.”

“Be like the sun for grace and mercy.
Be like the night to cover others’ faults.
Be like running water for generosity.
Be like death for rage and anger.
Be like the Earth for modesty.
Appear as you are.
Be as you appear.”

“This being human is a guest house. Every morning is a new arrival. A joy, a depression, a meanness, some momentary awareness comes as an unexpected visitor…Welcome and entertain them all. Treat each guest honorably. The dark thought, the shame, the malice, meet them at the door laughing, and invite them in. Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.”

20121011-084047.jpg

“An eye is meant to see things.
The soul is here for its own joy.

A head has one use: For loving a true love.
Feet: To chase after.

Love is for vanishing into the sky. The mind,
for learning what men have done and tried to do.

Mysteries are not to be solved: The eye goes blind
when it only wants to see why.

A lover is always accused of something.
But when he finds his love, whatever was lost
in the looking comes back completely changed.”
― Rumi, Night and Sleep

20121011-084054.jpg

Rumi – Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Balkh, also known as Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī, a Muslim poet, jurist, theologian, and Sufi mystic, was born in the 13th century to Persian (Iranian) parents in what is now Tajikstan.

20121011-084259.jpg

3 comments

    • Thankyou 🙂 i had to go read again all the posts you commented on .. I forgot what was in them :p thankyou for your beautiful words and for reading my posts and for reminding me what i had written 🙂 greatly appreciated 🙂

      • Jenn, I have to tell you that I LOVE Rumi. I usually share my Rumi quote of the day on FB. My favorite poem is “The Guest House.” Blessings, lydia

Please Leave a Reply

