image Dragonfly

As much as I love photography, I love editing. There’s some wonderful apps on iPad. My favourite at the moment is Photo Toaster. I have a penchant for Jazz too when I want different effects. Genius I tend to use for straight forward editing. Picasa 3 I use on PC.

When putting together my bugs and beetle photo blog, I decided to leave this beautiful Dragonfly out. I couldn’t decide which effect I liked best. Hence this blog with various Photo Toaster edits. The original photo, cropped, is shown first. The last is edited in Picasa 3.

There’s something magickal about Dragonflies. So much so that I had to get one tattooed on my left ankle last year. I have a beautiful gold charm I often wear around my neck. Now that I think about it I have a number of Dragonfly ornaments and other pieces. When I first began making soaps and candles and beautifully scented lotions and potions, my daughter designed a stained-glass version of a Dragonfly on computer for me.

Of course one of my all time favourite novel series is ‘Outlander’ by Diana Gabaldon set in Scotland. Her second book is ‘Dragonfly in Amber’. The name in itself is beautiful.

To see a Dragonfly is an incredibly emotional feeling. I have to stop and just watch in utter fascination. I have been lucky to see on a couple of occasions a Dragonfly alighting on water. They have flown around me at times too. This Dragonfly I saw at Memerambi when visiting my parents. It is laying eggs.

Dragonfly is symbolic of many things, and in this period of life for me they have special meaning.

Regeneration
Rebirth
Re-emergence
Breaking through illusions
Transformation
Clarity
Inner Peace
Fulfillment
Balance
Heart’s Desire










Please Leave a Reply

