image Solitary Egret

Thinking on this weeks photo challenge, Solitary, I recalled a recent walk through the Boondall Wetlands in Brisbane. Whilst the challenge is around people (I gather) I wanted to post the following photo.

Standing in a bird hide on the edge of the Nunda Creek, I watched for ages a Great White Egret (not a Heron my father corrected). Photographs taken in a split second can never convey totally the scenery unfolding.

The Great White Heron, a solitary bird. Eyes intent. Looking for a feed. Unless you looked and watched closely, one would think he was standing still. He wasn’t. He walked incredibly slowly near the Mangroves. His feet moving so as not to disturb the water and scare his intended prey.

To share this experience is something extraordinary. The sense of peaceful intention. Quiet solitude. Purposeful.

Googling quotes on the heron I found the following …

“When despair for the world grows in me, and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be. I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought or grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free”

Wendell Berry.

20120925-115651.jpg

Please Leave a Reply

